Password Protection Overview

Password Protection Overview

This video will go through the setup of password protection in the software. Password protection allows you to control what your employees have access to along with who has access to your data.

To setup password protection, click on the Tools drop down menu. From here click on ‘Password Setup’. First you will be given an option to set a database password. Setting a database password will require a password to be given when the database is restored or when opening the software.

To set a database password, click on ‘Set Database Password’. On the prompt that appears click ‘OK’. On the next screen, you can type in the password for your database. Click ‘OK’ once you type in the password. This will set your database password.

Once a database password is set, you will be given two new options. The first option titled ‘Change Database Password’ allows you to change your current database password. Clicking on it will first prompt you to put in the current database password. Once the database password is entered, click ‘OK’ and it will prompt you to enter the new database password. Once the new password has been entered, click ‘OK;’ to save the new password. You can also clear the database password by clicking on the ‘Clear Database Password’ button. Type in the current password and then click ‘OK’. On the new prompt click ‘OK’ and the password will be cleared.

The password setup screen also contains options for employee password access. This will allow you to control what screens and functions your employees have access to. To enable employee passwords, check the ‘Enable employee password protection on this computer’ option. This will open up a few new options.

First you can set passwords for all your employees by clicking on the ‘Edit Password’ button. On this screen, double click on an employee to change their password. Once the password is entered, click ‘OK’. You can also clear an employee password by clicking on the ‘Clear’ button at the bottom left of the screen. Once you have entered passwords for all your employees, click ‘OK’ to save them.

Next you can set what employees have access to by clicking on the ‘Edit Access’ button. On this screen, you will see a table that lists each password protectable function along with if it requires a password and who has access to it. If you want to password protect a screen or function, simply check the ‘Require Password’ checkbox for that function. Once this box is checked, the status of the employee check boxes will determine if the employee has access to the feature. If you want to prevent access to the function for an employee, uncheck their name for that setting. If you want to check or uncheck multiple options at the same time, you can select multiple cells and click on the ‘Check Selected Cells’ or ‘Uncheck Selected Cells’. Also if you want to copy the settings of one employee to another employee, click on the ‘Copy Profiles’ button on this screen.

You can choose the source employee by clicking on the ‘The Same As’ drop down menu, and then check the employees you want to copy the password settings to by checking their name in the ‘Make These Employees’ section. Click ‘OK’ to copy the profiles. Once you have finished modifying the password settings, click ‘OK’.

Next you can set and employees profile to be used as the default password settings for future new employees. To do this, click on the ‘New Employee’ button. On the prompt, click ‘OK’ and then select the employees that you want to use.

Lastly there are options for remembering who is logged in and automatic log out. By default, the software will not remember who is logged in and will require a password to be entered each time an employee goes to a password-protected screen. These options will allow for the software to remember who last logged in and will allow them appropriate access without password prompt. Also it will allow for the software to automatically log the employees out after so much time of inactivity.

To have the software remember who is logged in, click on the ‘Remember which employee is logged in’ option. This will allow for the automatic log out settings to be configured. To enable automatic log out check the ‘Enable automatic log out’ checkbox. You can also modify when the software will automatically log out the employee below.

Once you have finished configuring password settings, click on ‘OK’ to save these settings.